Nuggets of cheese and spice

I’m usually too tired to blog on weekdays. Sitting and staring at a computer screen for close to eight hours a day plus commuting kills my brain cells.When I get home, I don’t want to think anymore. I play Flash games on Facebook for a while, then read before sleeping.

Last night, I had to pull overtime to finish drafting a couple of articles — accomplished, by the way, with only two cups of coffee in my system. (I drink three to four cups of coffee a day.) By 6:30, brain started begging for food so I got up and grabbed dinner at Wham Burgers.

I do not like Wham burgers much as, say, Brothers or Army Navy burgers. The patties are perfectly grilled but not as, I don’t know, meaty? Which is okay. A real-beef burger is a real-beef burger when you’re tired and starving.

No, I go to Wham for the Pepper Poppers — perfect little golden potato nuggets filled with melted cheese and chunks of jalapeno pepper. Gooey and cheesy, with just the right amount of spice. Like Cheetos Cheddar Jalapeno, but with real cheese and pepper. I like to dip them in tomato ketchup but they’re perfect on their own.

And they stay warm for at least a couple of hours. Last week, I brought two boxes home for my brothers and the Pepper Poppers were still warm to the touch after a one-and-a-half-hour commute. I still nuked them in the microwave for about 10 seconds to melt the cheese, which remained nice and goopy.

Of course, when I finished my dinner and returned to the office, I was pleasantly drowsy because of all the cheesy goodness. But that was okay. Nothing a cup of coffee couldn’t cure.

Leave a Reply

