Gleek chic

I love Glee, even though I’ve watched maybe two or three episodes from the second season because the TV in my room is dead. Co-workers have promised to lend me copies of the series but I have no time or patience to badger them to bring their copies already. I’m too busy playing Dragon Age 2 and obsessing over things like nail polish.

As it turns out, I’m getting my Glee fix after all.

One of these things is not like the others

Behold the mess that is my bookshelf. The books are mine. The sea of clutter belongs to my brother and a battalion of unidentified dust bunnies. And the little red box in the foreground? It came in the mail this week.

You see, last week, I was surfing a number of nail polish blogs when I came across an entry that mentioned a limited edition set of Glee-themed nail polish by OPI. I searched for it and discovered the Glee set is carried by Sephora by OPI, not OPI OPI. And it has some of the cutest, most cheerful colors I’ve ever seen. And we don’t have Sephora here in Manila. So what’s a girl with a newfound obsession with nail polish to do?

I found a local seller on Ebay who was selling the 6-piece mini kit for what I thought was a reasonable enough price, even with shipping. The set had almost all of the colors I wanted. I mean, I would have loved for it to have Who Let the Dorks Out? or Diva-in-Training instead of, say, Celibacy Club. But hey, six shades in one set? I’m all over that.

These are possibly the cutest little bottles I’ve seen. From left to right they are:

  • Miss Bossy Pants, a rich berry shade. I could hear Rachel Berry warbling as I applied it.
  • Slushied, a creamy turquoise. It looks so sweet and yummy on the nail.
  • Celibacy Club, a glitter top coat.
  • Gleek Out, a sheer lime green glitter polish.
  • Sue vs. Shue, a dark, shimmery navy. If Sue Sylvester’s smirk had a color, this would be it.
  • Express Yourself to Yourself, a shimmery coral that looks more like candy.

Celibacy Club, Sue vs. Shue and Express Yourself to Yourself are Mini Kit exclusives, per Sephora.

Here’s a closer look:

I had some trouble handling the brush because the bottles are so tiny. But application is smooth and fuss-free.

Pinkie to thumb: Express Yourself to Yourself, Sue vs. Shue, Gleek Out, Slushied, Miss Bossy Pants

Thumb to pinkie: Miss Bossy Pants topped with Celibacy Club, Slushied, Gleek Out, Sue vs. Shue, Express Yourself to Yourself

My favorite of the lot is Slushied, which is so smooth and creamy and looks more like gelato. Miss Bossy Pants looks better without Celibacy Club. Or maybe I’m just not a fan of glitter coats. I prefer the glitter to be part of the polish itself. I think Celibacy Club will probably look better on Sue vs. Shue.

In any case, my nails look like candy. I think I’ll wear them like this to work on Monday. The corporate stiffs will never take me seriously again. 😛

Gundam Hi-Nu approves of this

3 thoughts on “Gleek chic

  1. Pingback: Miss Bossy Pants gets flaky « A Digression

Leave a Reply

