From the bottom of Bikini Bottom: Rescue Beauty Lounge Bikini Bottom and Starfish Patrick

Once there was an ugly barnacle. He was so ugly that everyone died. The end.

– “The Ugly Barnacle,” a very short story told by Patrick Star on the Spongebob Squarepants episode titled “Something Smells”

Yes, I still watch cartoons but I have no love for Spongebob. I find it much too hysterical. I only put up with it because my nephew forces me to watch it with him and I cannot say no to him.

The episode I quoted above, though? It is beyond awesome. In fact, “The Ugly Barnacle” was the first thing I thought of when I got these in the mail:

I am a recent convert to Rescue Beauty Lounge and its selection of extremely chic nail polish colors. I didn’t get immediately excited over the Spongebob-inspired shades, though. I wanted loud colors and vampy goodness. But Starfish Patrick was so pretty and perfect for the kind of perpetual not-quite-summer-but-not-really-anything-else climate we have in my corner of the cosmos. When RBL owner Ji Baek announced on Facebook that stocks of Starfish Patrick were running low, I just had to get it for myself. And Bikini Bottom, too. Because I’m a sucker for blue.

Starfish Patrick is described as a sheer, peachy coral — not pink like its namesake. It looks like an extremely flattering shade for most people with warm skin tones.

Isn’t it pretty? I used four coats here and it still looks pretty sheer. (Why am I rhyming? 😛 ) Not that I’m complaining.

I took these pictures two days after applying the polish and my manicure still looked fresh.

The brush was a bit stiff, though. I couldn’t get it to curve around the sides of my nails. I tried bending the bristles against the mouth of the bottle to make them more pliable and it worked. Application was better by the second coat.

Brush issue aside, I lucked out with this shade. Barely a week after I ordered it, it was sold out. And I have a feeling I’ll be using it up before long, it’s that wearable.

Here’s its sister, Bikini Bottom.

Bikini Bottom is described as a “pale, watery blue.” I say it’s the perfect pastel. And I love that it’s almost the same color as the box it came in.

I took this photo under a desk lamp I unearthed in my brother’s room, so the quality is much better than the photos from my previous posts. Bikini Bottom shows much brighter, though. In real life, it’s muted and kind of cloudy and milky.

Here’s a photo I took in plain indoor light. This is closer to what Bikini Bottom really looks like.


Oddly, this is the kind of shade I reach for when I need a pick-me-up. Other people cheer themselves up with pink, orange or yellow. I go for blue. Go figure.

Bikini Bottom applied smoothly, but there was some bubbling because my coats were thick. I really need to work on that. Thing is, unlike other polish brands and formulas that tend to bubble and mess up your manicure when you do thick coats, Bikini Bottom’s surface remained smooth and glossy. The bubbles stayed below the surface.



How cool is that? It makes me want to fly off to some remote island and go swimming in the ocean.

The only shade I didn’t get from the Spongebob-inspired set is Square Pants, a sheer yellow. I cannot wear yellow nail polish. It makes me look sickly.

And now, this post has made me want to take off my full Bikini Bottom manicure and swatch my other RBL shades so I can show them off.

Post edited on 24 July 2011 to add new pictures.

Rescue Beauty Lounge nail polish is sold exclusively on the company’s website for USD18 each. No barnacles were harmed in  the writing of this post.

5 thoughts on “From the bottom of Bikini Bottom: Rescue Beauty Lounge Bikini Bottom and Starfish Patrick

    • OMG Spirited Away nail art! I think I must watch that again. And yes, I got these two from Rescue Beauty Lounge. They… make my wallet cry. But the nail polish is awesome so I love it. If your sister wants to buy from them, let me know. Maybe we can combine purchases. They’re doing pre-orders for their pre-fall collection for 2 days next week and I’m getting 3 shades. You can check out swatches here.

  1. Pingback: Beyond basic black « A Digression

Leave a Reply

