Sunlight through a cloudy sky: Rescue Beauty Lounge Poco a Poco

What do you do when a typhoon rages through? Is that sentence even grammatically correct?

Two days after the second of two typhoons swept through the country, Mumu dragged us to the beach. This is how most of our vacations go. No plans, just some vague agreement of getting on a boat and staying at a cheap beachfront inn. Ten minutes of packing. A two-hour drive to the port and lunch at a neighborhood bulalo house somewhere in Batangas.

I like rainy days and cloudy skies. I love the smell of rain. And I love the colors of the sky above Puerto Galera.

The best thing about this vacation? Mumu came bearing gifts (that I bought ๐Ÿ˜› ). And one of them happened to be the perfect polish to wear under this beautiful overcast sky.

Rescue Beauty Lounge Poco a Poco. Yes, my first Firebird is here and she went to the beach with me.

L’Oiseau de Feu โ€” the Firebird collection โ€” is RBL’s pre-fall 2011 collection, named after Igor Stravinsky’s ballet and inspired by the colors of the sky and the frenetic energy of a gathering storm. RBL owner Ji Baek describes Poco a Poco thus:

When the wind picked up, I saw Poco a poco, โ€œlittle by little.โ€ This is a shade that changes from moment to moment. It’s the stunning, sparkling pink of a fanning cloud when the red and orange rays of the sun are trying to burst through.

Poco a Poco is a murky pink shot through with very fine pink and orange shimmer. The shade shifts from cool to warm and back again depending on the light and the angle. And while the shimmer is very bright, itย  never overpowers the pink base.

Artificial light washes out the color and gives it a pastel pink look with a hint of orange shimmer.

Indoors, it’s a muted medium pink. Almost a nude on me. This is how the sky looked as we drove to Batangas just before it rained, and during the boat ride to Puerto Galera as the sun prepared to set โ€” moody with just a tiny bit of sunlight shining through.

Sunlight brings out Poco a Poco’s true beauty. The pink base turns warm while retaining its dusty quality. Again, almost a nude on me.

The shimmer comes alive and light dances all across the nail.

I have to admit, when the Firebirds were first announced, I was not too impressed by Poco a Poco. I didn’t even include it in my pre-order. It’s pink. My skin tone doesn’t get along with a lot of pinks. I’m glad I decided to get it after all. You need to see it in real life to appreciate it. And maybe take it to the beach.

Like a few of my RBLs, the brush that came with Poco a Poco was a bit stiff and at first I had trouble making it fan out across the nail for even coverage. I used three coats here. Dry time was a bit long and I got hairline scratches on my right thumbnail. But it wore very well.

Poco a Poco is available at Rescue Beauty Lounge for USD18.

9 thoughts on “Sunlight through a cloudy sky: Rescue Beauty Lounge Poco a Poco

  1. Pingback: This post is brought to you by the color purple « A Digression

  2. Pingback: Brought to you by the color purple: Rescue Beauty Lounge Purple Haze « A Digression

  3. Pingback: Office-appropriate nails – Rescue Beauty Lounge Pizzicato | A Digression

Leave a Reply

