Teal phase: Dior Nirvana

This blog has been due for a new post for about two weeks now. But real life got in the way, and it was shitty and uninspiring. I’m in a better mood now, so here we are.

Lately, I’ve been wearing nothing but blue and blue-based nail polish — greens, purples, teals. I love blue polish, but many blues I own stain my nails so I have to alternate them with other hues. I’ve been on a teal phase for months, wearing it at least every other week.

When Dior’s Rock Your Nails collection was released earlier this year, I knew I had to have this:

Dior Nirvana is a medium teal creme with a strong green base. It’s a very classy shade. We do business casual in the office, but even if our dress code were a bit more uptight, I can probably still wear Nirvana.

White light brings out the green in Nirvana. This is the shade I would wear with a power suit and killer Louboutin heels.

But it wouldn’t look out of place with a pair of jeans and my favorite elephant-print T-shirt.

Mumu bought Nirvana and Rock Coat for me. It’s by far the most expensive nail polish I have. It’s also one of the more difficult to apply. Dior nail polish comes with a wide, flat, paddle-shaped brush with a curved tip that’s supposed to follow the curve of your cuticle. I find it a bit unwieldy because my nail beds are narrow. I like smaller, thinner brushes because they give me better control.

It’s just such a pretty shade. And it does look even sexier with Rock Coat. It turns into a dark, edgy, smoky green.

As pretty as Nirvana is, though, and as expensive as it is, it doesn’t have a lot of staying power. I think I managed to chip it after two days. I wore it during a week of cleaning out my desk, sorting through piles of papers and packing things in boxes, and the side of my left index nail chipped and left what appeared to be half a Christmas tree, or the profile of an extremely emo cartoon person staring up at the stars.

Two days after that, I got a huge chip on my thumbnail. I had no time to repair or give myself a new manicure so I just took everything off. My Halloween look this year consisted of bare, discolored nails. It went well with the office theme, Plants versus Zombies.

Dior Vernis is available at Rustan’s The Beauty Source for PHP1,200.

6 thoughts on “Teal phase: Dior Nirvana

    • Why not? Does it make your fingers look red?

      I have a new milk tea-colored nail polish from RBL that I think would look good on you. I’ll swatch it soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

