Night and dying embers: Rescue Beauty Lounge Piu Mosso

It feels like it’s been ages since Rescue Beauty Lounge released its pre-fall Firebird collection for pre-order. Last week, I finally got my package which contained Pizzicato, Piú Mosso and Decorous. (Thanks to Digital Traincase for arranging a group pre-order for RBL fans in Manila.)

This was the first thing I tore into:

Rescue Beauty Lounge Piú Mosso. For me, this is the star of the collection.

And why not? Blue is my favorite color. And looking at the bottle, I thought Piú Mosso just might become my favorite nail polish.

The Firebird collection is inspired by Igor Stravinsky’s ballet, “L’Oisseau de Feu.” The four shades in the collection are named for musical techniques. Ommorphia Beauty Bar has an excellent review which includes a summary of the Firebird story and the musical definitions of the polish names.

The polish colors themselves take their inspiration from the colors of a darkening sky upon the approach of a storm.

RBL owner Ji Baek describes Piú Mosso (more movement, quicken) thus:

Later, the ominous dark clouds bled into the sky with a fast-moving wind. Piú Mosso is an inky, blue-black that shoots through a flash of orange, the last glow of sunlight.

The orange shimmer smolders quietly within the depths of dark navy blue, like the embers of a dying fire in a dark night.

Fluorescent light brings out a gorgeous shade of peacock and makes the orange shimmer dance across the nail.

Indoors, Piú Mosso turns a dark, rich blue-black, but never completely black. I took this picture by the window and love how the early morning sun brings out the fire within the bottle.

Piú Moso is glorious under sunlight.

The blue is as dark and luscious as ever, and the orange fire comes to life. I can see flashes of gold, green and red here.

Piú Mosso’s formula is similar to Iconoclast — incredibly smooth, buttery and easy to control. Almost no spills and no pooling around the cuticles.


It is so richly pigmented that you can do with only one coat. I used two only because I don’t do one-coaters. My manicure lasted on my for all of six days with only minor tip wear, which is pretty awesome. I wash my hands a lot and type on a computer keyboard all day, and my manicures seldom last longer than three days without chipping and wearing.

So do I have a new favorite nail polish? Oh, I think I do.

Update, 10 December 2011: Piú Mosso is now sold out. Check out the other Firebirds at Rescue Beauty Lounge. Each bottle of polish is USD18.

3 thoughts on “Night and dying embers: Rescue Beauty Lounge Piu Mosso

  1. Pingback: Office-appropriate nails – Rescue Beauty Lounge Pizzicato | A Digression

Leave a Reply

