Hyperspace: Deborah Lippmann Across The Universe

Images of broken light
Which dance before me like a million eyes
They call me on and on
Across the universe

— John Lennon and Paul McCartney, “Across The Universe”

I like Fiona Apple’s version, which appears on the Pleasantville soundtrack. And Siobahn Magnus’, which she performed on American Idol.

Oh, and Deborah Lippmann’s.

This gorgeous bottle of glitter has been on my wish list for a while. As I wrote in last week’s post, I’ve been hesitating from buying glitter polish because I hate having to remove it. But when I was planning my outfit for the office Christmas party, I decided I just had to have glitter on my nails.

I didn’t end up wearing Across The Universe to the Christmas party. But I love it anyway.

Across The Universe has tiny blue glitter and larger blue and green hexagon glitter suspended in a sheer dark navy blue base. The base is very sheer at one coat. I didn’t want to wear three layers of glitter polish just for opacity and take two hours to remove it later. So I used creme polish.

Deborah Lippmann Across The Universe with Zoya Cynthia

Zoya Cynthia has the perfect dark peacock blue base to set off all that gorgeous glitter. I used two coats of Cynthia and one coat of Across The Universe.

The little pinpricks of blue and the sequins look subdued under a white lamp.

It’s like the light of the stars and planets are slowly being swallowed by the thick darkness of space.

The dark base of Across The Universe all but blackens Cynthia’s deep blue. I’m not complaining. The darkened base contrasts nicely with the glitter and the sequins.

I love that the dark base doesn’t eat up the glitter and you still get lots of sparkle even in indirect light.

Sunlight intensifies the glitter. I took this picture by the window when the bright morning sun was shining. My nails and the bottle perfectly capture the view from the cockpit just before the Millenium Falcon enters hyperspace.

I got a lot of overlapping sequin pieces because I just brushed on the polish. Next time I wear this, I’ll use multiple strokes to distribute the sequins more evenly.

Though the glitter looks chunky in the bottle, when applied on the nail, the surface is relatively smooth. I ended up using two coats of top coat. Orly Glosser dried my polish to a bumpy finish, probably because the coats underneath weren’t as dry as they should be. I used Orly Sec ‘n Dry to even out the bumpy spots, and I got an extremely smooth, extremely shiny nail surface.

Deborah Lippmann nail polish is available at Rustan’s The Beauty Source. Across The Universe is PHP825.

2 thoughts on “Hyperspace: Deborah Lippmann Across The Universe

Leave a comment