Red for good luck: a-england Perceval

Gong Xi Fa Cai!

I don’t celebrate Lunar New Year, myself. My family doesn’t go through the rituals. We do serve food that’s meant to symbolize long life and prosperity, though. And having lived in Singapore for a number of years when I was a kid, I’ve attended a few New Year parties. What’s that, you say? Lots of yummy food? Count me in!

And, of course, I have to wear red for good luck.

a-england Perceval. A festive red.

Before I go on, can I just say that a post devoted to a-england is long overdue? I discovered this brand last year thanks to blogs like Polish Police and Ommorphia Beauty Bar, and what a happy find it was. An inspired and inspiring collection with a good selection of colors, awesome formula, not a bad price, and a local seller (Digital Traincase).

I have five shades from The Mythicals collection and am lusting after the new Legends collection. Sadly, I won’t be able to afford it until way, way after my trip to Taiwan in March. This gives me more time to use and enjoy the polish I own and haven’t worn yet.

Perceval is a Knight of the Round Table who embarks on a quest to find the Holy Grail. He is one of only three knights to find the Grail and see it uncovered. The other two are Galahad, the perfect knight and hero of the Grail story, and Bors, the only one who lives to return to Camelot and tell the tale of finding the Grail. Perceval is said to become a hermit and die soon after completing the quest. In one book I read in fifth grade, Lancelot also manages to find the site of the Holy Grail. But his heart isn’t pure and he is not allowed to see the cup uncovered.

The polish inspired by the knight is a deep and very pigmented shade of shimmery red. It’s dark and bright at the same time, if that makes sense. Almost brooding in certain lighting, which adds to the complexity of the polish. The bottle shows hints of gold but you don’t see it on the nail.

Bright white light brings out Perceval’s strong ruby tone.

Like most bright polish I own, I like Perceval best under sunlight. It turns a resplendent, fiery red, like a finely cut ruby or a dragon’s heart.

This is the second time I’ve worn Perceval; the first time was New Year 2012. Hey, if it actually brings me good luck this year, that’d be awesome. The formula is thick and buttery, and can probably provide full cover in one coat. Application is super easy, with hardly any spills.

My only complaint is that it seems to show tip wear more quickly than my other a-england shades — two days compared to Avalon’s five. But it stood up to a couple of hours of chopping onions and mushroom for risotto last New Year’s Eve. No chips. I have yet to chip an a-england polish.

Perceval can be purchased on a-england‘s website for GBP9. The site offers free shipping worldwide. In the Philippines, it’s available at Digital Traincase for PHP650.

Last edited 25 January 2012: Added link to a-england’s website, which I forgot to do last night. -_-;;;

Leave a Reply

