Do princesses cry holographic tears? – a-england Princess Tears and Princess Sabra

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a princess when I grew up. Well, I wanted to be a lot of things, and princess topped my list. Not like Princess Grace or Princess Diana. I wanted to be like She-Ra. With superpowers, a magic sword and kick-ass moves.

That probably explains why I love these so much:

a-england Princess Tears

a-england Princess Sabra (Tristam Eyes)

Princess Tears and Princess Sabra are two of six holographic glitter shades from a-england’s 2012 collection, The Legend, inspired by the tale of Saint George and the dragon. So awesome is this whole collection that it inspired me to momentarily suspend my nail polish shopping ban so I could get my hands on the princess shades before Digital Traincase ran out.

Princess Tears is a pale lilac-grey with pink and blue holographic glitter. My white lamp brings out the silver. It reminds me of those silver holographic foil gift wrappers I used to buy in high school, which I couldn’t wrap any gifts with because they refused to fold.

Unlike the holos from a-england’s previous collection, the holo effect of Princess Tears is more subdued.

It’s silvery and dreamy with flashes of pink and blue.

Sadly, there was very little sun when I wore and photographed Princess Tears so I’m not able to show off its lovely lavender flash under sunlight. I’ll take pictures when I wear it again.

Princess Sabra is a gorgeous golden olive with silver, pink and blue holographic glitter. Named for the, erm, female lead? I don’t want to call Princess Sabra a heroine — getting tied to a tree and waiting to be rescued hardly qualifies as heroic. Yes, named for the female lead, Princess Sabra’s color (Tristam Eyes) is also inspired by Tristam, adorable feline master to a-england owner Adina Bodana. As a willing human slave to two cats whose eye color is very similar, I approve of this shade.

Like Princess Tears, Princess Sabra’s holo glitter is more subdued than Tristam’s or Lady of the Lake’s. White artificial light brings out a lot of the silver in the polish, as well as flashes of green, gold and pink.

Like other a-england holos, Princess Sabra dazzles under sunlight.

It’s the color of Tristam’s eyes, all right — if they had laser beams.

That’s just gorgeous. I’m going to stop typing and just stare at these pictures for a few minutes.

Like my other a-englands, the Princesses have a butter-smooth formula and apply easily. Unlike the others, however, they don’t seem to last as long. I managed to chip them within three days. They chipped along the cuticle instead of along the tip. It was hard to do a patch job. Princess Tears also seems to lose its luster quite quickly even with a-england’s fantastic The Shield top coat. The colors are pretty enough for me to overlook these flaws, though.

Princess Tears, Princess Sabra and the rest of the Legends can be purchased at a-england’s website for GBP9, with free international shipping. I purchased my bottles from Digital Traincase for PHP650.

5 thoughts on “Do princesses cry holographic tears? – a-england Princess Tears and Princess Sabra

    • But I love Princess Sabra! It looks better live, as it were. Princess Tears, I got bored of quite quickly because it looked old after maybe 3 days.

  1. they look like very pretty dragon scales. hahahaha. if the dragons liked tea parties and shopping. have tried any of those magnet nail polish things. i am curious. hehehe.

    • There’s a shade from this collection called Dragon. It’s green and very, um, reptilian. I don’t have it yet but I will soon.

      I haven’t tried the magnetic polish yet but Etude House has a set. Not sure I like it, though. It looks a bit weird. (But what do I know, I actually like crackle polish that makes my nails look dirty. :P)

  2. Pingback: Be-knighted: a-england Saint George « A Digression

Leave a Reply

