Sponge tip fail with Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas and Orly Fowl Play

There’s a reason I don’t post pictures of nail art — I can’t do it. That I don’t have tools is not the point. I suck at art. Remember when I used fimo sticks on my manicure? I couldn’t even cut the sticks right.

A couple of weeks ago, I thought I’d try my hand at sponge tips. It sounds easy enough, just a matter of dabbing some wet polish onto your nails with a sponge, right? You’d think so, but this is me.

Orly Fowl Play and Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas

I used Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas as a base. For the tips, I wanted something glittery but non-contrasting so it wouldn’t look bad even if I messed up. Orly Fowl Play fit the bill, not only because it’s loaded with flaky glitter in a dark purple jelly base but because I’d bought it ages ago but hadn’t worn it. (My Orly polishes don’t get any love.)

Here’s the finished product.

Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas sponge tips

I suppose it doesn’t look to horrible if you don’t look at it up close. But, see, I was going for glitter tips. I used an old makeup sponge and made the mistake of not cutting it up into small, nail-sized pieces before dabbing the glitter polish on. The tips ended up being uneven.

Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas sponge tips

From this angle, it doesn’t look too bad, no? I didn’t even bother to take pictures under sunlight and my white lamp because I didn’t want evidence of all the uneven dabs and swipes.

Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas sponge tips

I’ll get this right one day, I’m sure. 😛

Mismas is available at Rescue Beauty Lounge for USD20. I bought Orly Fowl Play at Pure Beauty in Serendra for PHP349.50.

6 thoughts on “Sponge tip fail with Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas and Orly Fowl Play

  1. I would never think of using Fowl Play as a tip polish! I know you said you don’t think you did a great job here, but I personally think they look awesome. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. what you did is really ok already. Nail art is hard. Hard. They say its easy but its not. You still need to practice. I just stick to accent nalls… though its not art.

  3. Pingback: A lumpy sort of Sunday: Rescue Beauty Lounge Mismas and Pretty & Polished My Lumps | A Digression

Leave a Reply

