Make-up haul

make-up lootAs some of you may know, I recently went on a three-week vacation to the US. It was my first trip there, and I certainly hope it wasn’t my last. I love it. I love Washington, DC for its museums and rowhouses. Orlando for its outlet malls. And New York for its, well, its New Yorkness. If only it were a bus ride away, I would go there everyday.

Make-up is my top second reason for being excited to go to the US. (Top reason? Harry Potter World at Universal Studios in Orlando. Of course.) I haven’t really splurged on make-up since I started collecting nail polish. But with my US trip came the promise of shopping at Sephora, and who am I to resist that? Especially Sephora in Manhattan. It’s everywhere.

So. I have pretty things to show off.

Tarte Amazon EscapeTarte Amazon Escape Amazonian Clay Eye & Cheek palette makes me wish Tarte would create a purse that looks exactly like it. I love the woven/faux snakeskin leather combo and gold detail.

Tarte Amazon EscapeInside, you get two Amazonian clay blushes, six eyeshadows and an instruction card for day and evening looks. The blushes are gorgeous and extremely wearable. The eyeshadows are highly pigmented but the darker shades don’t apply as evenly as Urban Decay shadows do, so I don’t think I’ll be wearing them on their own. They’re supposed to stay put for up to 12 hours, but hey, this is me with my oily skin, living in my humid country.

Tarte Tipsy BlushTarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Tipsy. The compact is orangey-coral but the blush is not.

Tarte Tipsy BlushThe blush is warm coral with a soft shimmer. It is also highly pigmented. Lovely, lovely shade. Though I almost feel bad about ruining that pretty stamped design every time I use it.

Aqualillies for Tarte finishing powderAqualillies for Tarte Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder. I used it once, back in Florida. It gave good coverage but not staying power. I don’t think that’s the make-up’s fault, though. Humidity in the places where we stayed (New Jersey, New York, DC and Florida) is a lot lower than I’m used to. My skin overcompensated by being oily as hell, and my make-up would slide right off after a few hours.

Beauty BlenderCouple of beautyblenders. Yeah, I splurged on sponges. I haven’t tried these, though. I’m still waiting to wear out my cheap, non-branded curvy blender sponge.

I forgot to take individual pictures of my new foundations — Urban Decay Naked Skin in 4 and Benefit Hello Flawless in Honey. Naked Skin gives me a perfectly airbrushed look but doesn’t last as long on me as Hello Flawless.

Revlon Lip Butters

Left to right: Red Velvet, Berry Smoothie, Sweet Tart, Strawberry Smoothie, Peach Parfait

Revlon Lip Butters. Probably my favorite lipstick product. I walked into Walmart intending to buy only what was on Mumu‘s shopping list, and ended up buying Lip Butters for myself.

One thing I regret not getting? Revlon Nearly Naked Powder. It’s not available here. I don’t know why I didn’t get one for myself when I bought Mumu’s at Walmart. Or why I didn’t get one on all those treks to CVS and Walgreens. Sigh.

So that’s my make-up haul from the US. Tomorrow, I shall show you pictures and swatches of  my new butter LONDONs.

Leave a Reply

