Trailing sparkles: MAC Spirit of Truth and a-england She Walks in Beauty

A couple of years ago, I found two rare gems in the form of MAC Wonder Woman nail polish at a bazaar. Because of the sheer amount of polish in my collection, I haven’t been taking the Wonder Women out to play as often as I would have liked. Yesterday, though, felt like a Spirit of Truth kind of day.

Remember this one?

MAC Spirit of Truth

That’s a superhero color if there ever was one. It just needs, oh, I don’t know…

MAC Spirit of Truth and a-england She Walks in Beauty

A trail of gold sparkles courtesy of a-england She Walks in Beauty.

MAC Spirit of Truth and a-england She Walks in Beauty

She Walks in Beauty is part of a-england’s Heavenly Quotes collection, which is inspired by romantic poetry.

She walks in beauty, like the night
Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
And all that’s best of dark and bright
Meet in her aspect and her eyes:
Thus mellow’d to that tender light
Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

– from “She Walks in Beauty” by George Gordon, Lord Byron

MAC Spirit of Truth and a-england She Walks in Beauty

Fine gold shimmer and large and small pink hexagon glitter are suspended in a clear base. When I say suspended, I mean it. There’s no settling in the bottom of the bottle. The formula is thick but surprisingly easy to apply. I used two thin half-coats of She Walks in Beauty and got really good payoff without having to fish for the larger glitter pieces. Of course this will be a pain in the ass to remove. But I shall worry about that next week.

MAC Spirit of Truth and a-england She Walks in Beauty

I love the stark contrast of gold and rose-pink against Spirit of Truth’s navy blue. I should use this combo more often.

MAC Spirit of Truth and a-england She Walks in Beauty

Sadly, the sun wasn’t out when I took these pictures. These are indoor shots by the window.

MAC Spirit of Truth and a-england She Walks in Beauty

Now where’s that invisible jet and magic lasso?

The MAC Wonder Woman collection came out in 2011 and was limited edition. a-england She Walks in Beauty is available on their website for GBP9. I bought my bottle from local distributor Polish Please.

Leave a Reply

