Still, summertime: NARS Amchoor

We’re at that weird in-between time of the year when summer isn’t officially over, the rainy season hasn’t officially begun, and every day is humid and sweltering with a chance of drizzle. Today, it is grey and hot. It’s the kind of weather that makes me sick.

It’s also the kind of weather that calls for color.

NARS Amchoor.

This is one of two shades from the Thakoon for NARS collection I purchased, the other being Anardana.

NARS Amchoor is inspired by the spice of the same name, a powder made from unripe mangoes used in curries, chutneys and pickles, among others.

It’s inspired by powdered green mango, but the color is that of fresh, juicy ripe mangoes. An orange-leaning yellow that works surprisingly well with my skin tone. My pictures don’t really do it justice. It’s brighter and a touch more yellow in real life.

Amchoor is only my second yellow nail polish. The first one I purchased was Skin Food Juice Tox Nail #4, a sunny lemon yellow that probably looks better on cooler, fairer skin tones. It gave me dark lobster hands and turned me off of anything yellow for the nails.

When I saw swatches of Amchoor on other blogs, I thought it might be time to give yellow another chance. Happily, I was right. I love the shade. It’s so bright and glossy and cheerful.

Like Anardana, Amchoor’s formula is buttery and smooth. Unlike Anardana, Amchoor goes on streaky. I don’t know if it’s just me or if yellow nail polish is streaky in general. It’s not as noticeable in the pictures but there are some uneven spots even at three coats. I’m not complaining, though, because it’s still an awesome color and perfect as a pick-me-up.

It’s so bright even Mochi wants to play with it. Here she is interrupting me as I tried to get a bottle shot.

Amchoor and the other Thakoon for NARS shades (except Lal Mirchi) are available at Rustan’s for PHP995 each.

2 thoughts on “Still, summertime: NARS Amchoor

Leave a comment